002. Everything Else is Optional

Sheldon: No we don’t. We have to take in nourishment, expel waste, and inhale enough oxygen to keep our cells from dying. Everything else is optional.

– The Big Bang Theory, S01E09: The Cooper-Hofstadter Polarization

Stand by for what will be the most polarising content I ever post to Best Case Scenario – the explanation that when I am at my worst, I watch a heckin’ lot of The Big Bang Theory.


June 3rd, 2017

Television Series: The Big Bang Theory

The Big Bang Theory S01E09 to S01E12

First an explanation into how I integrate reading, television and movies from #the1001project into life. I’ve alternated with several methods but what seems to work best is: for each episode into a season I watch, I have to spend the equivalent minutes reading. After watching disc one I generally read for twenty-one minutes, with fifty-seven after disc two. It’s anal, but the OCD pleases me. Then Friday night is movie night. This kind of controlled environment is the only situation that has thus yielded productivity for this project – and even it has failed me in recent months. But now you know why I will generally watch no more than six episodes in a day – because reading is time consuming. But now that logistics are explained, I’ll quickly cover my past with The Big Bang Theory.

Three years ago I went through a big break-up. Not the tiny kind where things are a bit shit for a while, it was a 2.5 year relationship, and one that ended because of cheating, emotional abuse and a lot of “we’ll talk about this when I get home”. It was the most difficult thing I’ve ever dealt with, featured depression and anxiety, and it’s what I refer to when I say I couldn’t fly for two years because of emotional issues. That’s as far as I’ll go for today, but when it happened I watched seven seasons of The Big Bang Theory before remembering that I am also a cheerful nerd and enrolled in a Settlers of Catan tournament which changed the course of my life. I also have other past experiences with the show, the main one being winning $1000 from purchasing the DVDs, but this is what created a positive emotional crutch and that is why when life gets challenging, I return to TBBT.

This time’s no different as I’m experiencing trauma flashbacks due to a friend breakup – no matter what anyone ever tells you, friend breakups are worse – so I’ve returned to this show. The quote above sticks with me every time though. Everything else painful or difficult is optional. Look after yourself first.

Book: The Complete Fables, by Aesop

I’m currently reading through the 1001 Books to Read Before You Die in order of publication, so Aesop’s Fables is the opening project. While many of these fables are sweet, some of them are a cause for raised eyebrows? Take, for example, Zeus and Shame:

When Zeus fashioned man he gave him certain inclinations, but he forgot about shame. Not knowing how to introduce her, he ordered her to enter through the rectum. Shame baulked at this and was highly indignant. Finally, she said to Zeus:
“All right! I’ll go in, but on the condition that Eros doesn’t come in the same way; if he does, I will leave immediately.”
Ever since then, all homosexuals are without shame.

This fable shows that those who are prey to love lose all shame.

Firstly, Shame portrayed as feminine is interesting to me, but essentially this story is interesting as an historic insight into Ancient Greek sexuality – particularly when I consider the Greeks to have been one of the more… explorative ancient societies. Old stories are fun stories though, and taken with a grain of salt and a lot of hindsight, Aesop’s Fables hold up. I didn’t read any particularly great ones yesterday however, and I’m still reading it now so I’ll keep you posted with any favourites.

x Casey

Leave a Reply

